FAIR Principles

In 2016, FORCE11 – a group of researchers as well as employees of libraries, archives, publishers and funders – established principles for the handling of research data. The so-called FAIR principles comprise four goals: the findability, accessibility, interoperability and re-usability of data. With the achievement of these goals, the sustainable re-usability of research data is meant to be guaranteed.

Biernacka, Katarzyna, Bierwirth, Maik, Buchholz, Petra, Dolzycka, Dominika, Helbig, Kerstin, Neumann, Janna, … Wuttke, Ulrike. (2020). Train-the-Trainer Concept on Research Data Management (Version 3.0). Zenodo. http://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.4071471 p. 36, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

Duration:  4:54 mins

ContentIn this video we take a look at FAIR data and the meaning of the individual FAIR principles (findable, accessible, interoperable and reusable).
It also covers how (trusted) data repositories are a key infrastructure that enables FAIR data.

Ghent University Data Stewards (2020). Knowledge clip: FAIR data principles. Available at: https://youtu.be/2uZxFu9SFi8

Licence: CC BY 4.0

What are the FAIR principles and what is FAIR data? FAIR are a set of guiding principles that enable and increase the reuse of data by humans and machines. FAIR is an acronym that stands for Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable. The FAIR principles originated in the life sciences, but can be applied to all disciplines. They are increasingly gaining traction and becoming a requirement by many research funders among others. Let's have a look at what each FAIR principle means.

FINDABLE: To enable its discovery, data should be described with rich metadata, and it should be assigned a persistent identifier, such as a digital object identifier or DOI. These metadata should be available online in a searchable resource such as a data catalog or repository.

ACCESSIBLE: Metadata and/or the data themselves should be retrievable via their persistent identifier using a standard communication protocol, such as HTTP or HTTPS. This means that following the persistent identifier should take you to the metadata or data. However, keep in mind that accessible does not mean that data must be open in the sense that there are no access restrictions. It rather means that if data has access conditions, these are clear to both humans and machines. Therefore the protocol for accessing the data should allow for an authentication and authorization procedure where necessary. In addition, metadata should be accessible even if the data themselves are no longer available.

INTEROPERABLE: Whenever possible, metadata and data should use recognized standards. By using formats, terms or vocabularies, that a community has agreed upon, we make sure our data is understandable by others but we also make possible for data to be exchanged and combined across computer systems. Interoperability also involves providing context by including references to other relevant metadata and data. For example by linking to another data set on which your data set is built.

REUSABLE: Data should not only be available, but also effectively reusable. To achieve this, data should be abundantly described and documented in accordance with community standards. Metadata and documentation should be able to answer the W-questions, to help others understand what we call the provenance of the data. In other words, where did data come from and what happened to them along the way. All of this is needed when we want others to understand the context of the data and judge how relevant and useful they are. It increases trust and the likelihood of reuse to make data reusable. We also need to let others know what kinds of reuse are permitted, by including a clear data usage license.

Given the multiple aspects of FAIR, data is not either FAIR or UNFAIR. FAIR is a spectrum, in other words data can be FAIR to a greater or lesser extent. So, how can you make your data FAIR? Unfortunately there is not a one-size-fits-all, but note that much of the work for making your research data FAIR can be addressed by depositing your data in a trusted data repository. By choosing an appropriate trusted and preferably domain-specific repository you can score many points in the FAIR game. When you upload your data to a repository you will typically need to provide metadata by filling a form. The elements of the form comply with a specific metadata standard. Your metadata will then become machine-actionable and searchable in an online resource. The repository should also generate a persistent identifier for your data. It will also provide the possibility to include references to other data or metadata; for example to link to related data sets or your ORCiD. In addition, trusted repositories will have authentication and authorization procedures in place to make sure that appropriate access conditions for the data are respected or enforced. And repositories also allow you to choose from machine-readable licenses enhancing the reusability of your data. Domain specific repositories tend to make use of discipline standards and controlled vocabularies, increasing the interoperability of your data.

Data repositories are indeed a key infrastructure enabling FAIR data. However, they won't do all the work for you. After all, you are the one that knows the data best. So you are still responsible to provide rich metadata and documentation to make the data understandable. Besides, if a discipline repository requires the data to be in a certain standard format and to use controlled vocabularies, the standardization process is still your job to do. Therefore, the sooner data is being collected and managed in a FAIR way, the easier it will be to keep the data FAIR in the end. This is sometimes referred to as making data FAIR by design. That is why planning for data management even before you start collecting data is essential. So are you ready to make your data FAIR?

Quiz

Welcome to your FAIR Principles Quiz.

Please click Next to start the quiz.


Further Information

  • Comment in Nature regarding FAIR Principles

Wilkinson, M. D. et al. (2016). The FAIR Guiding Principles for scientific data management and stewardship. Sci. Data 3:160018

  • FAIR-Principles and the European Commission

European Commission. Action Plan for FAIR data recommendations.

The EC expert group on FAIR data

EC/H2020 – Guidelines on FAIR Data Management in Horizon 2020

  • GO FAIR Initiative

GO FAIR is a bottom-up, stakeholder-driven and self-governed initiative that aims to implement the FAIR data principles, making data Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable (FAIR). It offers an open and inclusive ecosystem for individuals, institutions and organisations working together through Implementation Networks (INs). The INs are active in three activity pillars: GO CHANGEGO TRAIN and GO BUILD.

https://www.go-fair.org/fair-principles/

  • The FAIR Office Austria, which is part of the global GO FAIR initiative, networks researchers and service institutions to implement the FAIR principles.

FAIR Office Austria

  • Training material for “FAIR” in the train-the-trainer program for Research Data Management

Biernacka, Katarzyna, Bierwirth, Maik, Buchholz, Petra, Dolzycka, Dominika, Helbig, Kerstin, Neumann, Janna, … Wuttke, Ulrike. (2020). Train-the-Trainer Concept on Research Data Management (Version 3.0). Zenodo. http://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.4071471 (p. 38)

  • OPENAIRE

A network of Open Access repositories, archives and journals that support Open Access policies. The OpenAIRE Consortium is a Horizon 2020 (FP8) project, aimed to support the implementation of the EC and ERC Open Access policies.

https://www.openaire.eu/how-to-make-your-data-fair

  • FAIR-Principles and the Committee on Data for Science and Technology (Codata)

The Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) is a Paris-based organization with the aim of improving the quality, reliability and accessibility of interesting data from all fields of science and technology.

Hodson, S. (2018). Making FAIR data a reality… and the challenges of interoperability and reusability. Open Science Conference 2018.

Citation

FAIR Data Austria (2021). “FAIR Principles”. In: Research Data Management Open Educational Resources Collection. (https://fair-office.at/index.php/fair-prinzipien/?lang=en).

License: CC BY 4.0 unless otherwise stated.

FAIR Prinzipien

FORCE11, eine Gruppe aus Forschenden sowie Mitarbeitenden von Bibliotheken, Archiven, Verlagen und Forschungsförderern, hat 2016 Prinzipien zur Aufbereitung von Forschungsdaten verfasst. Die sogenannten FAIR-Prinzipien umfassen vier Ziele : die Auffindbarkeit (Findable), Zugänglichkeit (Accessible), Interoperabilität (Interoberable) und Wiederverwendbarkeit (Reusable) von Daten. Mit dem Erreichen dieser Ziele, soll die nachhaltige Nachnutzbarkeit von Forschungsdaten gewährleistet werden.

Biernacka, Katarzyna, Buchholz, Petra, Dolzycka, Dominika, Helbig, Kerstin, Neumann, Janna, Odebrecht, Carolin, … Wuttke, Ulrike. (2020). Train-the-Trainer Konzept zum Thema Forschungsdatenmanagement (Version 3.0). Zenodo. http://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.3938533 S.39, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

Dauer:  4:54 Min

Inhalt: In diesem Video werfen wir einen Blick auf FAIR-Daten und die Bedeutung der einzelnen FAIR-Prinzipien (findable = auffindbar, accessible = zugänglich, interoperable = interoperabel und reusable = wiederverwendbar). Es wird auch behandelt, wie (vertrauenswürdige) Datenrepositorien eine Schlüsselinfrastruktur sind, die FAIR-Daten ermöglicht. (Video auf Englisch)

Ghent University Data Stewards (2020). Knowledge clip: FAIR data principles. Available at: https://youtu.be/2uZxFu9SFi8

Lizenz: CC BY 4.0

Was sind die FAIR-Prinzipien und was sind FAIR-Daten? FAIR sind eine Reihe von Leitprinzipien, die die Wiederverwendung von Daten durch Menschen und Maschinen ermöglichen und verbessern. FAIR ist ein Akronym, das für Findable, Accessible, Interoperable und Reusable steht. Die FAIR-Prinzipien stammen ursprünglich aus den Lebenswissenschaften, lassen sich aber auf alle Disziplinen anwenden. Sie gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung und werden unter anderem von vielen Forschungsförderern gefordert. Werfen wir einen Blick darauf, was die einzelnen FAIR-Prinzipien bedeuten.

FINDABLE (auffindbar): Um ihre Auffindung zu ermöglichen, sollten die Daten mit umfangreichen Metadaten beschrieben und mit einer dauerhaften Kennung versehen werden, z. B. einem digitalen Objektidentifikator (DOI). Diese Metadaten sollten online in einer durchsuchbaren Ressource wie einem Datenkatalog oder Repositorium verfügbar sein.

ACCESSIBLE (zugänglich): Metadaten und/oder die Daten selbst sollten über ihre dauerhafte Kennung mit einem Standardkommunikationsprotokoll wie HTTP oder HTTPS abrufbar sein. Das bedeutet, dass die Metadaten oder Daten über die dauerhafte Kennung abrufbar sein sollten. Beachten Sie jedoch, dass "zugänglich" nicht bedeutet, dass die Daten in dem Sinne offen sein müssen, dass es keine Zugriffsbeschränkungen gibt. Es bedeutet vielmehr, dass die Zugangsbedingungen für die Daten sowohl für Menschen als auch für Maschinen klar sind. Daher sollte das Protokoll für den Zugriff auf die Daten gegebenenfalls ein Authentifizierungs- und Autorisierungsverfahren vorsehen. Darüber hinaus sollten die Metadaten auch dann noch zugänglich sein, wenn die Daten selbst nicht mehr verfügbar sind.

INTEROPERABLE (interoperabel): Wann immer möglich, sollten Metadaten und Daten anerkannte Standards verwenden. Durch die Verwendung von Formaten, Begriffen oder Vokabularen, auf die sich eine Gemeinschaft geeinigt hat, stellen wir nicht nur sicher, dass unsere Daten für andere verständlich sind, sondern wir ermöglichen auch den Austausch und die Kombination von Daten über Computersysteme hinweg. Zur Interoperabilität gehört auch die Bereitstellung von Kontext, indem Verweise auf andere relevante Metadaten und Daten aufgenommen werden. Zum Beispiel durch die Verknüpfung mit einem anderen Datensatz, auf dem Ihr Datensatz aufbaut.

REUSABLE (wiederauffindbar): Daten sollten nicht nur verfügbar, sondern auch effektiv wiederverwendbar sein. Um dies zu erreichen, sollten die Daten in Übereinstimmung mit den Standards der Forschungsgemeinschaft umfassend beschrieben und dokumentiert werden. Metadaten und Dokumentation sollten in der Lage sein, die W-Fragen zu beantworten, damit andere verstehen können, was wir die Herkunft der Daten nennen. Mit anderen Worten: Woher kommen die Daten und was ist mit ihnen auf dem Weg dorthin geschehen? All dies ist notwendig, wenn wir wollen, dass andere den Kontext der Daten verstehen und beurteilen können, wie relevant und nützlich sie sind. Die Wiederverwendbarkeit von Daten erhöht das Vertrauen und die Wahrscheinlichkeit der Wiederverwendung. Außerdem müssen wir andere darüber informieren, welche Arten der Wiederverwendung erlaubt sind, indem wir eine klare Datennutzungslizenz hinzufügen.

Angesichts der vielfältigen Aspekte von FAIR sind Daten nicht entweder FAIR oder UNFAIR. FAIR ist ein Spektrum, d. h. Daten können mehr oder weniger FAIR sein. Wie können Sie also Ihre Daten FAIR machen? Leider gibt es kein Patentrezept, aber ein Großteil der Arbeit, um Ihre Forschungsdaten FAIR zu machen, kann durch die Hinterlegung Ihrer Daten in einem vertrauenswürdigen Datenspeicher erledigt werden. Durch die Wahl eines geeigneten vertrauenswürdigen und vorzugsweise domänenspezifischen Repository können Sie viele Punkte im FAIR-Spiel sammeln. Wenn Sie Ihre Daten in ein Repository hochladen, müssen Sie in der Regel Metadaten in einem Formular angeben. Die Elemente des Formulars entsprechen einem bestimmten Metadatenstandard. Ihre Metadaten werden dann in einer Online-Ressource maschinenlesbar und durchsuchbar. Das Repository sollte auch einen dauerhaften Identifikator für Ihre Daten erzeugen. Es wird auch die Möglichkeit bieten, Verweise auf andere Daten oder Metadaten aufzunehmen, z. B. um auf verwandte Datensätze oder Ihre ORCiD zu verweisen. Darüber hinaus verfügen vertrauenswürdige Repositories über Authentifizierungs- und Autorisierungsverfahren, die sicherstellen, dass angemessene Zugangsbedingungen für die Daten eingehalten oder durchgesetzt werden. Außerdem können Sie bei Repositories zwischen maschinenlesbaren Lizenzen wählen, was die Wiederverwendbarkeit Ihrer Daten erhöht. Bei fachspezifischen Repositories werden in der Regel Fachstandards und kontrollierte Vokabulare verwendet, was die Interoperabilität Ihrer Daten erhöht.

Datenrepositorien sind in der Tat eine wichtige Infrastruktur, die FAIR-Daten ermöglicht. Sie werden Ihnen jedoch nicht die ganze Arbeit abnehmen. Schließlich sind Sie derjenige, der die Daten am besten kennt. Sie sind also immer noch dafür verantwortlich, umfangreiche Metadaten und Dokumentationen bereitzustellen, um die Daten verständlich zu machen. Und wenn ein fachspezifisches Repositorium verlangt, dass die Daten in einem bestimmten Standardformat vorliegen und kontrollierte Vokabulare verwendet werden, ist es immer noch Ihre Aufgabe, den Standardisierungsprozess durchzuführen. Je früher die Daten auf FAIR Art und Weise gesammelt und verwaltet werden, desto einfacher wird es sein, die Daten letztendlich FAIR zu halten. Dies wird manchmal als "FAIR by design" bezeichnet. Deshalb ist es wichtig, die Datenverwaltung zu planen, noch bevor Sie mit der Datenerhebung beginnen. Sind Sie also bereit, Ihre Daten FAIR zu machen?

Quiz

Willkommen bei Ihrem FAIR Prinzipien Quiz.

Bitte klicken Sie auf Weiter, um das Quiz zu starten.


Weiterführende Informationen

Kommentar in Nature bezüglich FAIR Prinzipien

Wilkinson, M. D. et al. (2016). The FAIR Guiding Principles for scientific data management and stewardship. Sci. Data 3:160018

FAIR-Prinzipien und die Europäische Kommission

GO FAIR Initiative

ist eine Bottom-up-, von Stakeholdern getriebene und selbstverwaltete Initiative, die darauf abzielt, die FAIR-Prinzipien umzusetzen und Daten auffindbar (findable), zugänglich (accessible), interoperabel (interoperable) und wiederverwendbar (reusable) zu machen. Es bietet ein offenes und integratives Ökosystem für Einzelpersonen, Institutionen und Organisationen, die über Implementierungsnetzwerke (INs) zusammenarbeiten. Die INs sind in drei Tätigkeitssäulen aktiv: GO CHANGEGO TRAIN und GO BUILD.

https://www.go-fair.org/fair-principles/

Das FAIR Office Austria, das Teil der globalen GO FAIR Initiative ist, vernetzt Forschende und Serviceeinrichtungen zur Umsetzung der FAIR Prinzipien

FAIR Office Austria

Trainingsmaterial zum Thema „FAIR“ im Train-the-Trainer-Programm zum Forschungsdatenmanagement

Biernacka, Katarzyna, Buchholz, Petra, Dolzycka, Dominika, Helbig, Kerstin, Neumann, Janna, Odebrecht, Carolin, … Wuttke, Ulrike. (2020). Train-the-Trainer Konzept zum Thema Forschungsdatenmanagement (Version 3.1). Zenodo. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.4322849 (ab S. 39)

OPENAIRE

Ein Netzwerk von Open-Access-Repositorien, -Archiven und -Zeitschriften, die Open-Access-Richtlinien unterstützen. Das OpenAIRE-Konsortium ist ein Horizon 2020 (RP8)-Projekt, das darauf abzielt, die Umsetzung der Open-Access-Politiken von EC und ERC zu unterstützen.

https://www.openaire.eu/how-to-make-your-data-fair

FAIR-Prinzipien and das Committee on Data for Science and Technology (Codata)

Das Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) ist eine in Paris ansässige Organisation mit dem Ziel der Verbesserung von Qualität, Zuverlässigkeit und Zugänglichkeit von interessanten Daten aus allen Feldern der Wissenschaft und Technologie.

Hodson, S. (2018). Making FAIR data a reality… and the challenges of interoperability and reusability. Open Science Conference 2018.

Zitationshinweis

FAIR Data Austria (2021). „FAIR Prinzipien“. In: Offene Bildungsressourcen Forschungsdatenmanagement. (https://fair-office.at/index.php/fair-prinzipien/)

Lizenz: CC BY 4.0 soweit nicht anders angegeben.